18 | 10 | 2019

After a second round of hearings, the European Parliament has decided to reject French Commissioner-designate Sylvie Goulard for the Internal Market portfolio.

Her candidature was marred by controversy as she faces an investigation for fraud and stands accused of conflicts of interest during her time as MEP.

Statement of the European Communist Initiative

The parties participating in the European Communist Initiative denounce the outrageous anti-communist resolution of the European Parliament and the escalation of anti-communism planned by the EU. This resolution promotes the unhistorical identification of communism with the monster of fascism, whitewashing the fascists and their actions, expressing hatred for the struggle of the peoples. The slander that socialism equates to fascism in the name of totalitarianism is revealed by the fact that fascism is born and bred of capitalism. Their common economic basis is the power of monopolies that only socialism overthrows.

In a letter today to the Commission President-elect, GUE/NGL co-Presidents Manon Aubry (France Insoumise, France) and Martin Schirdewan (DIE LINKE, Germany) urge rethinking of proposed fragmented portfolios for Commissioners, stress the problem of conflicts of interest among Commissioners-designate, and raise key policy concerns on economics, climate, gender equality and new tech.

The European United Left/Nordic Green Left in the European Parliament condemns in the strongest possible terms attempts to use the 80th anniversary of the outbreak of the Second World War as an excuse for political point scoring and historical revisionism.

Through a proposed resolution under the title ‘The importance of European remembrance for the future of Europe’, an asymmetrical coalition of political groups in the European Parliament wants to whitewash historical facts and undermine EU solidarity by equating the murderous Nazi regime with socialist and communist ideals of equality and justice.

GUE/NGL is pleased to announce its nominations for the European Parliament’s 2019 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought – three symbols of resistance against the violations of human rights in Brazil.

They are Marielle Franco (posthumous), Claudelice Silva dos Santos and Chief Raoni.

Before today’s vote on Christine Lagarde’s nomination as head of the European Central Bank, we offer you 8 good reasons why she is unsuitable for the post.


By snubbing the Parliament’s vote on her own appointment, Lagarde has shown massive disrespect for citizens and democracy.

If she cannot be bothered, why should anyone approve her mandate?

Today, the European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen announced the proposed portfolios of the nominees for the commissioner positions.

While the nominees were announced today, they have not been appointed yet – the European Parliament must still make the final decision on each of them.

With at least 150 signatories from 35 countries across five continents, former world leaders like Presidents Lula and Rafael Corrrea, lawyers, journalists, writers and academics are calling on the use of the judiciary as a weapon of political persecution to be stopped.

MEPs including GUE/NGL co-leaders Manon Aubry and Martin Schirdewan, Younous Omarjee, Anne-Sophie Pelletier, Emmanuel Maurel, Leïla Chaibi, Manuel Bompard, Marisa Matias, Özlem Demirel, Miguel Urbán, Idoia Villenueva Ruiz, Manu Pineda and Sira Rego have also signed.

Left Parliamentarians call for negotiations, disarmament and civil crisis management instead of increasing military expenditures

In Helsinki this week, Left Parliamentarians from the European and national Parliaments have been participating in the Inter-Parliamentary Conference for the Common and Security Policy (CFSP) and the Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP). The aim of the Conference is to scrutinise EU Foreign and Defence Policy.

Following the meeting, MEP Idoia Villanueva Ruiz (Podemos, Spain), MPs Mr Aristos Damianou (AKEL, Cyprus), Mr Tobias Pflüger (DIE LINKE, Germany) and Georgios Katrougalos have released the following statement:

In view of the various conflicts in particular in the European Neighbourhood, the growing confrontation between NATO and Russia, the collapse of the nuclear arms control regime and the start of a new arms race, the parliamentarians are calling for EU initiatives to revive the disarmament process. They express concerns and reject the EU’s security concept which favours military solutions over negotiations.

Left MEPs have condemned Trade Commissioner, Cecilia Malmström, for refusing to appear before the European Parliament’s Environment Committee to answer questions about the impact on the Amazon forest of the recently agreed EU-Mercosur free trade agreement.

The request for a debate was moved by MEP Anja Hazekamp (Partij voor de Dieren, Netherlands) and endorsed by the Committee following global attention on the fires currently devastating the largest and most biodiverse tract of tropical rainforest in the world.

Left group in Parliament will not endorse nominee for president of ECB

Left MEPs will be voting against Christine Lagarde as the next president of the European Central Bank today.

Her eight years at the helm of the International Monetary Fund – as part of the Troika along with the ECB and the European Commission – have been characterised by policies that have exacerbated inequality across the globe while benefiting the 1%.

Real time web analytics, Heat map tracking

Your experience on this site will be improved by allowing cookies